Getting to know Evercast as a participant

An introduction to using the Evercast video conferencing room (accessible via the Chrome web browser), including how to navigate the control bar and various features.

Note, this tutorial is for those who will be attending a session but not initiating content streaming. If you will be initiating the content stream, please see Getting to Know Your Evercast Room as a Stream Initiator.

You're about to experience a whole new level of collaboration. But before you do, let's get you acquainted with your shiny, new virtual room.

First, make sure you've covered your bases:

  1. Use the Google Chrome browser

    Currently, Google Chrome is the only browser supported by Evercast. If you already have Chrome, please visit this page to ensure it is up to date.

    If you need to download and install Chrome, click here.

  2. Check your internet connection
    A solid internet connection is the most important factor when it comes to low-latency live streaming. In most cases, it is perfectly fine to use a WiFi connection when simply attending a live Evercast session, but if you experience any stream quality issues, we recommend using a hardwired connection.

    A NOTE FOR MAC USERS: If you do hardwire your computer and are using a Mac, turn WiFi off.

Now,  for the tour:

Allow us to point out the features within your Evercast room.

1) Navigating the control bar

If you hover your mouse at the bottom of the screen, the control bar will appear. The control bar includes the following:

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio132535901bb2ed7339c130e0f1e62eb64baseline_mic_black_18dp

Disable Microphone

Click this icon to mute your microphone. It will turn red, indicating that your mic is muted and no one can hear you.

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio132535950465dbcae1a5fd67f756cbe39baseline_videocam_black_18dp

Disable Camera

Click this icon to turn off your webcam. It will turn red, indicating that your camera is disabled and no one can see you.

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio132536009f890eeee1d3da291cefd6ec0baseline_volume_up_black_18dp

Disable Audio Output

Click this icon to mute all participant and stream audio in the room (just in your own workspace -- it will not mute the output for everybody else). When you have disabled audio output, this icon will turn red.

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio1325361220076bdcece1b0411a66467cbbaseline_screen_share_black_18dp

Enable Screenshare

This is a basic screensharing function, ideal for sharing documents and photos. You will need to install the Evercast Chrome extension in order to use this feature. When you click the icon, you will be given simple instructions on how to continue.

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio132536761856c78539df44c3f4fc4bc66baseline_settings_input_hdmi_black_18dp

Enable External Device Share

This feature is being removed from the platform. You can ignore this icon.

 

baseline_chat_bubble_black_18dp

Chat (Beta)

Click this icon to create time-stamped messages. Chat messages will be shared with all participants in the room. It will not alert other participants when you submit a chat, but it is useful for note taking, especially when you are recording. Remember, only the designated room admin can record a session, although anyone can use the chat feature.

 

downloads.intercomcdn.comio13253741764574bd87545e02f90a0f4a7ebs-icon-36

EBS Settings

If you're simply participating in a session, you won't need this feature. This is for those who are initiating streaming (i.e. an editor streaming content from Avid) using Evercast Broadcaster Software (EBS). If that's you, and you'd like to connect your video conferencing room to EBS for this purpose, check out our guide for stream initiators (i.e. editors) and/or our EBS setup guide.

 

baseline_settings_black_18dp

Room Settings

You will only see this icon if you are the designated room admin. The room admin can click this icon to edit room details, like the name of the room and whether it's designated ‘public’ or ‘private’ (see below). The room admin can also invite participants to the room from this settings window.

  • A Note on ‘public’ vs. ‘private’ rooms:
    • Public means that anyone with the room’s URL can enter as a guest.
    • Private means that only those who have an Evercast login and have been manually invited by the room admin are permitted to enter the room.

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio132537543e1527910337204e8bc964835baseline_headset_mic_black_18dp

      Device Settings

      Click this icon if you need to select a different webcam, microphone, or speaker output.

       

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio1325376151a4ef13859fc78edcd32c79abaseline_create_black_18dp

      Enable Draw Mode

      Click this icon to enable Draw Mode, so you can mark up the screen for other participants to see. For more information on how to use the draw tool, please visit the following article.

       

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio1325376862c793108ec75ea3174cf65a0baseline_fullscreen_black_18dp

      Enter Full Screen

      Click this icon to hide the Chrome interface.

      2) Hiding participant thumbnails (going full screen)

      If you would like to hide participants so you can have a true full-screen experience, hover your mouse over the thumbnails, which will display a bar with three dots. Click the bar to lower the thumbnails.

      To raise the thumbnails again, move your mouse to the bottom of the screen and click the same bar again. 

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio1325383810a8d82e37f7da1123a1e4d7ahide-participants

      3) Pinning and unpinning a feed

      By default, Evercast will showcase whomever is speaking in the main screen, toggling among the participants as they interject. To manually select which person's feed to display in the main screen, click on the thumbnail you'd like to view. This will "pin" that feed to the top. You'll know that feed is pinned when a small red bar appears at the bottom of the corresponding thumbnail. Click the thumbnail again to "unpin" the feed and go back to the automatic toggling among participant feeds.

      4) Toggling between light and dark modes

      If you would like to change your interface display theme from light to dark, move your mouse to the top of the screen, which will display the header. Click the toggle button to switch between light and dark.

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio132537373716966e8ee2efc3342e4526flight-dark

      5) Leaving a live session

      When you are ready to leave a live session, you may simply close the tab or browser. If you forget to leave a session, your account will automatically log you out after two hours.

      6) Changing your password

      If you would like to change your password, move your mouse to the top of the screen, which will display the header. Click your avatar icon (top right), then click "Settings."

      downloads.intercomcdn.comio1325389524dc2131051743b5e34a2222211f5efae327c2d42125d10b0dd0b37af

      7) Inviting and disinviting participants (if you're the room admin)

      Keep in mind:

      • Only the room admin has the ability to invite/disinvite participants. 
      • As the room admin, you can invite as many people as you’d like to the room; however, only ten people can collaborate inside the room at any given time.
      • The room admin only needs to invite a participant one time. Once invited, the participants will always have access to the room, unless they are disinvited. 

      Inviting participants:

      When you join your Evercast room as the room's admin, you will be greeted by a welcome pop-up where you can invite/disinvite participants to the room. If you close this pop-up and need to invite/disinvite people while you're in the room, you can do the following:

      1. Move your cursor to the bottom of the screen until the control bar appears. Then, click the gear icon, which will pull up the room settings pop-up.
      2. On the settings pop-up screen, click the Invites tab.

      To invite a participant, enter their email address into the email field, and click the ‘Invite’ button to send the invitation. 

      Note: you can only enter one email address at a time. 

      After you've invited a participant, they will receive an email from Evercast inviting them to join your room. Here is an example of the email they will receive: 

      Disinviting participants:

      To disinvite a participant, click the three vertical dots next to the email address of the person you would like to disinvite. A "remove" button pop-up will appear. Click that button to remove the participant from the room.

      That’s about it!

      For troubleshooting or more useful info on how to use Evercast, you can check out our support center. Or, feel free to reach out to our 24/7 support team. We're here to help. Happy streaming!